1. Pathfinder Water Repellent driFILL Down Sleeping Bag

Pathfinder Water Repellent driFILL Down Sleeping Bag

Kathmandu offer bags in the following sizes:
  Mummy Semi-Rectangular Rectangular
Small 72cm x 197cm    
Regular 70cm x 206cm 72cm x 211cm< 76cm x 211cm
Large 72cm x 220cm 74cm x 225cm 78cm x 225cm
Mummy

Mummy bags, with their wider cut shoulders and narrow feet are the most efficient when it comes to weight and warmth. These bags conform more closely to your shape and only require minimal body heat to warm up. They encase you ‘like a mummy’ and may be restrictive and less roomy than other bags.

Semi-Rectangular

Semi-Rectangular bags with their tapered foot (more room than the Mummy) and contoured hood are a good compromise. These bags provide ample sleeping space at the torso for comfort.

Rectangular

Rectangular types offer more space and are cooler than others, letting you move easily within the bag. Because of the larger top opening, heat can escape more easily.

View sizing guide
US $239.99
Pathfinder Water Repellent driFILL Down Sleeping Bag is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 42.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_51223_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 299.94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Sleep comfortably

Designed for travel and hiking in cooler climates, you'll find the perfect balance of warmth and compactness with the mummy-shaped Pathfinder Down Sleeping bag. It utilises our game changing driFILL water repellent down for your comfort and insulation.

Part of our pack&GO solution.

Temperature 

Comfort Level Celsius Fahrenheit
Comfort 5 41
Transition 0 32
Risk -15 5

Fabric
Outer 30D 385T DWR Nylon ripstop
Inner 30D 345T Nylon taffeta
Fill 700 loft, 90/10 Goosedown

Fill Weight
Regular 241g
Large 273g 

Weight

Reg 1.8 lb

Country of Origin China

  • Water repellent driFILL - breathable, natural down with a treatment that sheds water and dries quickly
  • Efficient mummy shape ideal when maximum insulation, minimum pack size and weight are important
  • Versatile with a durable rip-stop shell
  • Need a down care cleaner to keep your down gear immaculate?

Customer Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed:) This bag is lasting well. I got caught out and slept half the night on the schus Haus deck (Whakapapa field- not in the snow but above the snow line) one time over winter with only the sleeping matt from my nzac40 and some Marino thermals/ etc for pjs and got woken up by the builder as the sun was rising. I'm not saying I was toasty warm however for a light/ small packing bag it's been my go to all year. Rather than packing a fat bag, dress up if you are thin and it is cold. Unfortunately it's a bit thin in the shoulder cross section for me. I'd like to see them do a wide version as well as long ( please ). Also a coal flew out of the fire and burned through the bag. It's pretty fire retardant considering the bag saved my bivi bag and it patched up great, still going.) also slept in it 20 nights below the snow line around ruapehu area over winter. It's been great for all sorts of adventures from mountain bike packing/ tramping/ car camping and mountaineering( if you have layers ). Fully recommend:) thanks Katmandu, you guys/girls have really done us kiwis a deal and a good service ( in the north island ) with this super bag:) happy new year
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very good but watch out for the loss of down I bought the Pathfinder sleeping bag 2-3 years ago and have Used it for approximately 50 nights sleep. I like the small package size and the weight but have found that the down on the underside of the bag has all but disappeared (even after washing as the team advised would restore it). Now means the sleeping bag is not much use other than inside use given here is no warm from underneath. Disappointed that a great bag in all other respects is now not worth having. If you buy make sure there is plenty of down on the underside
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and small Awesome for tramping. Small and light. Now I can fit more gear when we go hiking
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So compact and snug I bought the Pathfinder sleeping bag because I needed a warm yet compact and lightweight bag for hiking and camping trip in Scandinavia. It was very comfortable and the lowest temperature we had was 6 degrees with wind at altitude. That night I paired or with my Kathmandu Thermal sleeping bag liner and was warm enough (I say 'enough' because my feet were cold that night but I should have put on merino socks). I'm a 176cm female and choose the regular fit solely because of pack space. There's not THAT much difference in space or weight between regular and large and in hindsight I should have purchased the large. I liked that the bag comes with an additional storage sack (it's best not to store sleeping bags in their compact bags) and I washed the bag as recommended on the storage sack. A tip from the stag at Kathmandu to ensure the feathers are fully dry and fluffy again is to put it in on low heat and slow spin in a commercial dryer with a couple of tennis balls!
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid performer Excellent bag that packs down very small and is featherlight. I'm a hot sleeper and use a thermal inner with my bag, so adequately comfortable in as low as minus 10. I happily pack it for multi day missions in fiordland, stewart island and alpine passes. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staff Member Review My Background: Owned this S/bag model for 3+ years. I am a staff member at a Kathmandu retail store and have a fair amount of recreational hiking and camping experience. Review: The first thing to point out is that this sleeping bag is designed as a 3 seasons bag. (Summer, Spring, Autumn). This doesn't mean that it cant be used in winter, in fact you can get away with using it most of the winter in the North Island. However when you get temperatures below the comfort limit (5°c) and above 0°c it is still safe but will not be a comfortable nights sleep. Breathable temperate controlling thermals like the KMD Ascent or equivalent will help as will a thermal liner in terms of making the night more comfortable, but will not drastically lower the capable temperatures of the bag. A good general rule of thumb is to go for a bag that's comfort temperate is a few degrees below the lowest average temperate you expect. That way if the temperatures drop on you during a hike or camp you have a bit of a temperature buffer that will make the night more comfortable and allow for those drops of temperature in the early hours of the morning. Another good rule is anything above the snowline should be with a four season bag. In terms of sizing for the bag I have found that just under 6 foot tall people will fit in the regular and over 6 foot should go for the larger fit. This can vary with preference but you don't want too much empty space in the bag as it will take longer for your body and the bag to warm that space up. The water repellent down and finish work wonders at keeping your bag dry on the inside and performing as it should. Whether its some dew that sneaks in the tent in the morning or a bit of rain spray when its overcast. It wont absorb the moisture and you can shake it almost completely dry the next morning. (The finish wears off if the bag has gotten dirty allot and washed often over time, but can be re added by a technical water repellent like the one from grangers). Top use cases for this bag include the following: -Hiking -Camping -Bike or motorcycle touring -Lightweight Travel Overall this sleeping bag does what it says on the tin. Its got great warmth for the weight, keeps moisture out, takes up very little space and with its pretty rip stop nylon outer its durable to boot. Pro Tip: Grab a 3-4L compression sack and you can squeeze this bad boy down even smaller, its the power of high loft goose down for you.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did exactly what it said it would do. I chose this product because it was so light and packed down so small! Waterproof down is also a game changer. In summer situations it would be amazing. Unfortunately, I screwed up by choosing this bag as it was as good as winter when I was on Stewart Island. The rating on it for comfort limit is five degrees, and I don’t think I had a night above three the whole time. Because of my own mistake, I don’t have lots of positive feedback from this sleeping bag, but it kept me alive, and I wasn’t shivering. Sure sleep was hard at times, but it is a highly well-designed bag with adequate loft. I’m looking forward to using it now that I’m back from the adventure and don’t have to deal with trying to use it on a subantarctic island. This product did exactly what it said it would do in the conditions I was in.
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not warm enough Wrote this review after reading other people's. Used it to hike in TDP Chile/Patagonia in November. Night temperatures got around 0-5C and it wasn't warm enough, particularly my feet. This was despite also wearing Kathmandu thermals, socks and a highly rated sleeping matt. Even though there is reasonable fill power, there just isn't enough fill weight. I can see light through the sleeping bag where the down doesn't cover the baffles. It's very small and very light but it isn't warm enough for probably less than 10C.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm & comfortable We used these recently on a trip around the Rhodope Mountains in Bulgaria in summer. It was very hot weather but the sleeping bags were never uncomfortable. They're really soft, perfect size, and fold down really small which is great if you're backpacking. We also used these in autumn in Australia beforehand, and one night there was frost on the ground and we weren't quite warm enough - it does say they are 3 season sleeping bags so that was our fault for not being prepared! So if you're camping where it's really cold you'll want a thicker one, but for all other seasons I think this sleeping bag is perfect. We'll be using them for a long time to come.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ratings very accurate (male) - light and compact. I purchased this bag as my old Fairydown "Everest" (now 40 years hard wear) is really too much for most conditions I (now) tramp in. The Pathfinder has been everything the label claimed. Comfor to 5 deg (C) and I'm happy at zero though my feet get cold. That is simply age, I get cold feet in bed at home. Compared to lugging 2.7kg of the Everest around, these days the 750g of the Pathfinder is bliss - old age again - for I have no intention of going to minus 20 C as it was before. Yes, old age, again! Summary - the 700 loft is good value for most tramping to 0 to 5 deg and light as a feather.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sleepingbag for Hiking (Spring/Summer/Fall) We used this sleeping bag in many occasions during our Spring/Summer/Fall hiking and camping trips. Very compact and light which is essential during multi-day hikes and very warm, we tested it at 6 C without much layers on and it is probably the temperature limit because we were a little bit cold, but otherwise, perfect
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sadly lacking I recently replaced pay v old sleeping bag with a Pathfinder bag and have found it all very disappointing. Hardly any loft but I still took it camping in the Grampians and froze (despite being fully dressed whilst in it!) both nights. It was cold but not especially cold if not near the 0 degrees as indicated on is bag.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted! I was a bit nervous buying this sleeping bag, as it's so small I didn't think it was going to be warm enough for me as I get very cold when I'm camping. A recent tip I did it got down to 7 degrees, and I did have a marino top and socks on as well, I stayed toasty all night. Very impressed as I don't have my room in my panniers when I'm cycling around with all my camping kit as well.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great travelling bag for cycle touring. Only issue is the stuff sac. Had to go to Mac Pac to get a better stuff sac for cycle touring.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Packs small, and light, just what I need Ordered this on line, it arrived within 2 days and is perfect, I love it
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very expensive sleeping bag, but I've been using this synthetic one which is 3 times the size and 3 times the weight so I decided I'd rather have a small sleeping bag than cut down on the weight of a tent, no i'm living large with a tiny down bag that is warm as anything. best thing i ever bought!
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size Have used once great size my pack is lighter and more room for other stuff.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight for tramping Small compact size, lightweight - perfect for summer tramping.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it!! I love this so much its so warm and cozy and super light and packs up really small and i use it all the time
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very cold sleeping bag - provides no warmth I bought this sleeping bag a week ago. My son took it camping. The minimum temperature he experienced was about 5 degrees. He was frozen. He has an old cheap sleeping bag that he usually uses that is very warm and copes well in this sort of weather. As this sleeping bag is meant for cold weather, it was a real disappointment. I will take it back to Kathmandu.
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used on Millford track Used in April on Millford track. Pretty good. Wouldn't want it to be much colder
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and warm I brought this looking for a lightweight bag that would work well in most temperatures except for snow. I think I got what I wanted. The first time I used it, it got down to 10 degrees centigrade and I was too warm - I had to keep my arms out of the bag. This, I think, is a good thing.
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent value excellent value and wonderful performance great product
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not warm enough I have returned this bag dissapointed. It is rated to zero degrees and we took it on a warm spring camp in the Grampians, minimum 8 degrees, and shivered all night. I bought two and returned one that had not been used. I have spoken to Kathmandu and registered my complaint, but might go further. I find it useful to travel and stay in people's houses in warmish weather as it packs so small - but for general bush camping - no way.
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and features As usual Kathmandu comes up trumps with a great sleeping bag
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sleeping bag Took this to Nepal and North India and it was great! Kept me warm and packs down into a tiny bag so great for travelling light.
Date published: 2015-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from small and light but not good for winter in NZ Have used this sleeping bag over past NZ winter and found it to be to thin once the temps got below zero, will be good for all other times of the year but not winter. Small and light so great if your taking a small pack, I'm sure its good in warmer temps.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super compact! Great bag for its pricepoint, very happy with all of its features, and when packed away its so small and light. Perfect for motorcycle touring where size and weight does matter.
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing and very comfortable This is the best thing I ever buyed in my entire life, besides pizza, it's very comfortable, ultra warm, and also very small when is fully folded, I even forget what "cold" means.
Date published: 2015-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great warm bag suitable for young son I needed a Bag for my sons cold scout hike coming up. This is very light, very small for backpack, and pretty warm and son is sleeping in it at home as loves it
Date published: 2015-04-13
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_51223_bv47_, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kathmandu
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.04ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT